2019 Premier League Award Winners


Over 200 guests celebrated the 2019 Premier League season at the awards night held at the Hilton Hotel in Adelaide last Friday evening.

The event provided a wonderful opportunity to celebrate the season and all the people who make it a success, while also specially recognising stand out performances amongst players, coaches, umpires, bench officials and clubs.

The illustrious MVP award for the league’s Premier Division was awarded to Asha Thurlow from Metro Jets Netball Club.

Asha represented the state in the 19U team in 2015 and was also selected in the Southern Force Team in 2018 and 2019.  She has had an incredible season, averaging over 36 goals per match, with an impressive 89% average shooting accuracy for the season.

Asha has played an important role with Metro Jets and proved a strong target under the post for the team, who were finals contenders right up until the final match in the minor rounds.

Lauren Frew from Matrics Netball Club took out the 2019 Premier League Reserves Division MVP.  Lauren has been a long-time member of the Matrics Netball Club, playing up through the age groups.

This year she was selected in the 19U State Team who won the National Championships. Throughout the 2019 season Lauren averaged 26 goals per match, also with an impressive 89% shooting average.

Contax were awarded the season’s Club Excellence Award. The club finished top of the ladder in both Premier League and Reserves, second in the AMND intermediate divisions and top of the ladder in both AMND Junior and sub-junior divisions.

Nicolle Saunders from Oakdale Netball took out Rookie of the Year. Nicolle started her Premier League journey with Harlequin Netball Club in 2012, playing three full seasons for the reserves team.  Nicolle then moved to Tango in 2015, playing predominately in reserves with two matches in league.

From there Nicolle moved to South Gawler Netball club.  2019 saw Nicole recruited to Oakdale for which she played every match during the 2019 season for the Premier League.

Coach of the year was awarded to Kirsty Leonard-Down from Garville Netball Club. Kirsty was the Head Coach of the Garville Netball Club Premier League Reserves Team, Head Coach of the successful 19U State Team and Apprentice Coach of the Southern Force ANL team.

Kirsty was also involved in the Netball SA Targeted Coach Program and was a coach presenter and mentor for Netball SA pathway programs passing on her knowledge to coaches and grass roots players coming through the pathway.

The 2019 Umpire Award was presented to Rebecca Ferguson who had another standout year in 2019. Rebecca was selected to officiate at the Australian Netball League.  She was also selected for the Netball Australia Emerging Talent Program. Rebecca regularly umpired Premier League matches, including being appointed for the Premier League Reserves Grand Final.

Rebecca also gives back to Associations throughout the year with Practical Testings at the Priceline Pharmacy Country Championships and Association Visits throughout the season.

Ten outstanding players made up the 2019 Team of the Year for their impressive performance throughout the season.

Matrics Netball Club who took home the 2019 grand final win in both the premier and reserves divisions celebrated into the night.

Congratulations to all the winners and everyone from all areas of netball who help make up this wonderful competition.


  • Premier League’s Premier Division MVP – Asha Thurlow
  • Premier League Reserves Division MVP –  Lauren Frew
  • Club Excellence Award – Contax
  • Rookie of the Year – Nicolle Saunders (Oakdale Netball)
  • Coach of the Year – Kirsty Leonard-Down
  • Umpire Award – Rebecca Ferguson

Team of the Year

  • Goal Shooter – Kelsey Williams (Tango Netball Club)
  • Goal Attack – Laura Packard (Matrics Netball Club)
  • Wing Attack – Imogen Abernethy (Contax Netball Club)
  • Centre – Gia Abernethy (Contax Netball Club)
  • Wing Defence – Georgia Beaton (Contax Netball Club)
  • Goal Defence – Kailah Greenwell (Contax Netball Club)
  • Goal Keeper- Amehlia Schmidt (Contax Netball Club)
  • Reserve Goaler – Georgie Horjus (Contax Netball Club)
  • Reserve Centre Court – Stacey Hein. (Matrics Netball Club)
  • Reserve Defencer – Elly Grimmett (Oakdale Netball Club)