Program Overview

Netball SA established the Academy Program throughout South Australia for talent identified players, coaches and umpires. The program is run for the Adelaide, Eyre, Central Ranges, Murray, Northern Regional, Northern Metropolitan, South East, Southern and Spencer Regions.

The aim of the Academy program is to provide a development pathway for identified coaches, umpires and players from the regions and assist them to reach their potential. The program aims to decentralise the delivery of developmental and high performance programs to South Australian Member Associations and to develop links between the Regions, Netball SA and the South Australian Sports Institute. The main program runs from  February to October of each year, involving players, coaches and umpires with a minimum 40 hours contact during this time.

Trials for the Academy programs commence in February of each year and are facilitated by each academy – see contact details below.


Purpose of Program

The program has evolved since its inception and now follows the National curriculum, “Develop a Diamond Academy Program” including guidelines of age. Athletes who are 14-16 years are eligible to apply. The curriculum is designed for individual athlete development.

  • To identify players between 14 – 16 years and develop their potential.
  • To improve players skills & understanding of all aspects of the game.
  • To expose players to high performance coaches and specialist coaches.


Commitment of Coach & Team

From February – October inclusive team members must be available for trials and if selected one training session per month on Sundays and a camp which will be conducted at the beginning of the program in either February or March.

If selected in a squad there will be a program fee that will be advised when registrations are open each year. The program fee will include uniform costs and camp fee.

All Program staff and athletes will be required to attend all training sessions and athletes may also be selected to participate in the Netball SA Academy Games in October each year.



These occur during the month of February/March. Details can be found on the Netball SA Website events calendar once registrations are open. Player eligibility:

Players must turn 14 years of age PRIOR to the 30 September 2020 and must not turn 17 years of age PRIOR to 31 October 2020 to be eligible for the 2020 program.



Where are they located?


Region Associations
Adelaide Academy


Adelaide Metropolitan Netball Division

City Night division

Eyre Academy


Great Flinders Netball Association
Eastern Eyre Netball Association
Far West Netball Association
Mid West Netball Association
Port Lincoln Netball Association
Central Ranges Academy


Barossa, Light & Gawler Netball Association
Gawler & Districts Netball Association
Hills Netball Association
Mid Hills Netball Association
Murray Academy


Mallee Netball Association
River Murray Netball Association
Riverland Netball Association
Riverland Independent Netball Association
Northern Regional Academy


Adelaide Plains Netball Association
Northern Areas Netball Association
North Eastern Netball Association
Southern Yorke Peninsula Netball Association
Yorke Peninsula Netball Association
Kadina & Districts Netball Association
Northern Metropolitan Academy


Elizabeth Netball Association
SA Districts Netball Association
South East Academy


Kowree Naracoorte Tatiara Netball Association
Mid South East Netball Association
Mount Gambier Netball Association
Naracoorte Netball Association
Western Border Netball Association
Southern Academy


Great Southern Netball Association
Kangaroo Island Netball Association
Southern Hills Netball Association
Southern United Netball Association
Spencer Academy


Broken Hill Netball Association

Port Augusta Netball Association
Port Pirie Netball Association
Roxby Downs Netball Association
Whyalla Netball Association



Program Manager Contacts


Adelaide Cindy Williams
Central Ranges TBC
Eyre TBC
Murray Gretchen Scannell
Northern Regional Chantel Schutz
Northern Metropolitan Joann Gidman
South East TBC
Southern Jacoba Clough
Spencer Bianca Broadwood