Netball SA congratulates Netball Australia Board elects

Netball SA would like to congratulate Susan Comerford, Cheryl McCormack and Marcia Ella-Duncan who have been appointed to the Netball Australia Board of Directors, following a vote at today’s Netball Australia Annual General Meeting (AGM).

All three were elected through a transparent and democratic process and come with broad skills and experience, across both the business and community sectors, and will be valuable additions to the Netball Australia board.

Susan Comerford is an experienced, well respected and highly credentialed professional, who has made a significant contribution to the sport in South Australia during her time on the Netball SA Board. Cheryl McCormack and Marcia Ella-Duncan are both former Australian players who also bring extensive business acumen and knowledge of the game.

This experience of the three elected Directors will be critical as Netball Australia and the Member Organisations continue to work together with a shared commitment to grow the game, from creating more opportunities for grass-roots participants to be the first sport to deliver fully professional female athletes in Australia.

Susan Comerford
With over 30 years professional and general management experience, Comerford is skilled as a corporate and commercial lawyer. Her specialty areas of expertise include a strong focus on human resources, including performance management, professional development, leadership and strategic planning.

She has held a wide variety of senior executive management roles within some of Australia’s leading national commercial law firms. In addition, she has held various executive positions with the Australasian Legal Practice Management Association, the peak professional association for legal practice managers, including Vice President of the national board from 2015 – 2016.

Comerford has great knowledge of the issues facing the sport at a State and Territory level, having previously served on the Netball South Australia Board of Directors.

Marcia Ella-Duncan OAM
Marcia Ella-Duncan is an experienced netball player, coach and administrator who has represented Australia and New South Wales and has a career in netball spanning 40 years. Ella-Duncan became the first Aboriginal netballer to play for Australia, featuring in 18 Tests including winning a silver medal at the 1987 Netball World Cup.

Ella-Duncan is now a member of Netball Australia’s Reconciliation Action Plan Working Group and in the past has been a member of numerous government advisory and investigative boards and committees related to legislation and policy affecting Aboriginal people. The Chairperson of the La Percuse Local Aboriginal Land Council (LPLALC), Ella-Duncan is responsible for managing and developing land and property assets on behalf of the Aboriginal community.

After serving as a member of the Randwick Netball Association Executive Committee for six years, Ella-Duncan now runs her own consulting business. In 1988 she was awarded an Order of Australia Medal (OAM) for services to netball and was inducted into the Australian Netball Hall of Fame in 2015.

Cheryl McCormack
Cheryl McCormack is a former Australian representative in netball and touch football who brings a wealth of experience in Sports Management and Marketing to the Board. McCormack played nine Tests for Australia from 1985 until 1986, making her international debut against Trinidad & Tobago in Melbourne.

McCormack has held Senior Management positions in the key professional sports of AFL, NRL, Racing and Paralympic sport and has experience working on major events including the IRB Rugby World Cup. She currently works for the NSW Government’s lead agency for Tourism and Major Events Destination New South Wales. In her role at Destination NSW, she was Project Director for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015.

McCormack has an innate knowledge of the issues facing the sport at a State and Territory level, having previously served on the Netball NSW Board of Directors. Cheryl has held the position of Director on the Board of Directors since May 2, 2015.