Contax and Borrego shine in Premier League

The Netball SA Premier League season has wrapped up for 2018 with Contax taking home the silverware at the grand finals and former Adelaide Thunderbirds shooter – now Garville player – Carla Borrego crowned most valuable player for the Premier division at the presentation dinner on 14 September.

Borrego was instrumental in Garville’s season that saw her team make the grand final. In the grand final played on 7 September, Contax defeated Garville 73-39. In the Reserves division Contax also won, defeating Matrics by three goals 49-46.

Carla Borrego in action at the grand final.

After the 14 minor rounds, Borrego was the league’s leading goal scorer with 587 goals. She averaged 39 goals a game, with an 86% shooting accuracy.

In the smallest of margins, 16-year-old Kangaroo Islander Georgie Horjus, who lines up for Contax, finished one vote behind Borrego on 42 votes. Former Adelaide Thunderbirds shooter, now Matrics goal attack, Laura Packard finished third with 32 votes.

The inaugural Netball SA Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Community Engagement Award was won by Vanessa Dempsey. The award acknowledges the significant contributors to the engagement and support of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander netball participants and communities and celebrates the achievements of outstanding individuals making a difference in this space.

In 2008, Vanessa founded SA Nunga Netball a platform for young Indigenous girls to showcase their netball talents to the wider Indigenous community. Vanessa has also been instrumental in working closely with Netball SA to establish, create and launch the Reconciliation Action Plan. In her role as Oakdale’s Premier League Head Coach, she is the first Indigenous Premier League Coach in South Australia.

Matrics players enjoying the presentation dinner.


2018 Netball SA Premier League Award Winners

2018 Premier League Team of the Year

GS – Carla Borrego, Garville
GA – Laura Packard, Matrics
WA – Imogen Abernethy, Contax
C – Gia Abernethy, Contax
WD – Georgia Beaton, Contax
GD – Kate Easther, Matrics
GK – Amehlia Schmidt, Contax
Goaler Reserve – Georgie Horjus, Contax
Centre Court Reserve – Stacey Hein, Matrics
Defender Reserve – Elly Cleggett, Oakdale

Team of the Year.


Rookie of the Year – Georgie Horjus (Contax)
Premier League Umpiring Award – Rebecca Ferguson
Premier League Coaching Award – Vanessa Dempsey (Oakdale)
Reserves Division MVP – Molly Affolter (Contax)
League Division MVP – Carla Borrego (Garville)
Club Excellence – Contax and Matrics
Netball SA Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Community Engagement Award – Vanessa Dempsey


Contax celebrates after the grand final wins.


Grand Final results re-cap

Contax 73 defeated Garville 39
Marg Angove OAM Medal: Georgie Horjus (Contax)

Shooting statistics:
Emma Green: 32/36 – 88.89%
Georgie Horjus: 41/48 – 85.42%

Carla Borrego: 27/33 – 81.82%
Nyah Allen: 11/15 – 73.33%
Amelia Day: 1/1 – 100%

Reserves Division

Contax 49 defeated Matrics 46
MVP: Lucy Austin (Matrics)

Shooting statistics
Rebecca Taheny: 18/23 – 78.26%
Molly Aprolter: 16/24 – 66.67%
Amy Gaedtke: 15/18 – 83.33%

Lucy Austin: 34/37 – 91.89%
Taylor Greig: 12/17 – 70.59%