Breaking news: 2019 17U State Team announced


The 2019 17U State Team has been announced. Netball SA congratulates the following players on their selection:


17U Team

Amelia Anderson            Contax Netball Club

Krystal Anderson-Ives*   Contax Netball Club

Casey Bernhardt             Matrics Netball Club

Phoebe Bonner               Garville Netball Club

Darcie Brown                   Kapunda Netball Club

Sophie Casey                  Matrics Netball Club

Tahlia Dnistrjanski           Contax Netball Club

Jessie Grenvold               Contax Netball Club

Kimberley Hearnden        Angaston Netball Club

Georgie Horjus                 Contax Netball Club

Rachel Redden                 Woods Panthers Netball Club

Abbey Siviour                   Contax Netball Club

*Selection subject to fitness


The team, led by coach Lee-Anne Cummins, will vie for a fourth Championship win in a row when they compete at the National Netball Championships held in Brisbane in April.

On the selection of the team, Cummins said “There is mix of those with experience in the nationals environment along with others new to this level, which provides a good blend. They are all excited and looking forward to representing their state.

“During selection we were looking for players with strong basic skills, good game sense and awareness and the ability to work in partnerships with others. Along with this, players who showed they were able to follow a game plan, as well as take on and respond to feedback.”

A player Cummins is particularly excited to see develop is Georgie Horjus, who is back for her third year in the 17U team.

“After a break-out year in Premier League it will again be exciting to see Georgie’s experience and leadership benefit the state team.”

With the team now selected, in the final months of 2018 individual athletes will maintain a fitness regime and return in January ready to start preparing as a team ahead of the Championships.

In addition to naming 12 players in the 17U State Team, Netball SA selectors have identified 12 players for the 17U Development Squad.

This squad has been selected during the trial process based on their future potential and improvement during selection. Players in the Development Squad, will attend fortnightly training sessions coinciding with the 17U State Team’s training and will be called upon if a replacement player is required.

Coaches and Team Managers will also receive the opportunity to further develop their skills and knowledge at the same level.


17U Development Squad

Jasmine Abbott                Garville Netball Club

Kalani Aston                     Contax Netball Club

Millicent Cordy                  Garville Netball Club

Lucy Denton                     Millicent Netball Club

Cameron Golding             Oakdale Netball Club

Madison Haggett              Millicent Netball Club

Olivia Nicholls                   Metro Jets Netball Club

Hannah Sexton                 Contax Netball Club

Ruby Tanner                     Contax Netball Club

Gia Van Zyl                       Garville Netball Club

Alexandra Ward                Oakdale Netball Club

Jessie Wooldridge            Loxton North Netball Club